And the winner is…

Caramel Sundae Cupcakes!

When I went to the grocery store to pick up my missing items for the cupcakes, I couldn’t find chocolate-covered cherries.  Apparently, grocery stores are not the place to go for this kind of candy.  Because it was already after 7:00 and I still needed to bake and decorate, I didn’t have time to go to a second store.  Therefore, I moved on to Plan B.  I decided to go with miniature special dark milky way candy instead.  Before I put the pans in the oven, I placed a mini chocolate candy in the center.

They baked up perfectly – just the right amount of puffy roundness. I ended up making two batches of frosting.  The first batch just didn’t seem to want to be a delicious, fluffy delicious treat.  So, I ended up tossing it and trying round two.  The second batch was DELICIOUS.  I made a traditional buttercream frosting with caramel topping as a flavoring agent.  Note: if you’re making this, you’ll need extra powdered sugar because the caramel sauce makes it thicker though less stiff.  For a little bit of extra decadence, I drizzled extra caramel on top of the frosting. Unfortunately, you can’t really tell in the photo because by the time I made it to the office, it had already sunk into the cake.  If you decide to make your own version of this, I recommend putting the drizzle on right before serving.

For my first official order, they turned out perfectly.  I overheard people in the hall as they passed discussing how good they were, and the birthday girl seemed really happy with the flavor.  She always has caramels on her desk, so it must have been meant to be that the grocery store didn’t have what I was looking for.

Leave a Reply

