Homemade Pops – Melt my Heart!

I just realized that it’s already Tuesday night and I haven’t posted since Friday.  I also haven’t baked since then, either.  Although, cupcakes and other delicious treats are never far from my thoughts.  I’ve also just noticed how high my magazine stack has gotten. I’m obviously falling behind in a lot of things.  But, the magazines, I can take care of. I’ve been spending time going through and ripping out recipes that look tasty to put into my binder. As I find recipes online and print them off, I’ve been organizing them by category and placing them in my binder, two to a plastic sleeve. You might think that using the plastic is overkill, but I’m doing it this way for a couple of reasons.

  1. I have a lot of them because I took a photography class in college and have most of them left, unused.
  2. I’m a very messy cook.  Case in point: I spilled homemade Kahlua on every page in my binder, but because I used protector sheets, none of my recipes was ruined and it only took a few washings to get all of the stickiness off of the pages.
  3. I think it looks neater than having paper punched.

Anyhow, as I was collecting future dinners and desserts, I ran across a couple of pages of recipes for homemade pops. I don’t know about you, but we are headed towards desert status along the Treasure Coast in south Florida, and a Popsicle sounds just about perfect.  Although the Blueberries & Cream sounded delicious, I fell in love with the idea of frozen Strawberry Lemonade on a stick!

Strawberry Lemonade Pops

Ingredients & Kitchen Utensils

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/3 cup water
  • 1 cup chopped strawberries
  • 1/2 lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
  • small saucepan
  • strainer
  • large bowl
  • spoon
  • pop mold
  • Popsicle sticks

Instructions

In a small sauce pan, combine sugar, 2/3 cups water, and chopped strawberries. Stir over medium heat until sugar is dissolved and mixture comes to a simmer.  Cook until berries start to soften, about 5 minutes.  Remove from heat and let cool.  Pour mixture through a fine strainer into a large bowl, pressing the solids with a spoon to ensure you get as much of the liquid as possible.  Stir in lemon juice and remaining water (2/3 cup).  Pour liquid into molds and insert sticks.  Freeze until firm, at least 6 hours.  Enjoy!

Anyone in the mood for a Popsicle Party?

One thought on “Homemade Pops – Melt my Heart!

  1. hmmm, one of the first thing I bought down here were Popsicle molds–they remain unused, sitting in my drawer..

    These do look far tastier that what you buy in stores. Are they your next project?

Leave a Reply

