Weekend Update

I know it’s already Tuesday morning, but I haven’t been able to get to my computer to update my blog for your reading pleasure. So, in no particular order, here’s your Weekend Update:

1. I worked late on Friday night, missing Happy Hour with my co-workers/friends and nearly missing dinner with Sam and his dad, Geoff. Luckily, they agreed to play with the dogs for a little while extra until I was done with work.

2. I got up before the sun on Saturday and made the 2-hr trek to Orlando to meet up with Tara, a friend from college, her son and the rest of her family that came down on vacation. I had a GREAT time. There were virtually no lines – I think the longest we waited in line was maybe 10 minutes. Awesome!

I don’t look so great in this photo. It appears as if Pinocchio is attempting to hide part of me.  He should have tried harder.

To top our day off, we had an 8:00 dinner seating at the CASTLE with five of the PRINCESSES!! It was pricey, but well worth it to see the three young kids I was with literally bouncing in their seats as they waited for their turn with each of the princesses. Landon (Tara’s son) would swipe a chicken nugget off his mickey mouse-shaped plate and bring it with him to hug the princess, clutched in his fist and trailing fried crumbs in his wake. I can only imagine if I have kids how much more fun it might be.  Unfortunately, dinner didn’t get over until 10:00, and that was with us rushing through dessert.  Normally this wouldn’t be a problem, but I still had my drive home – I finally pulled into the driveway somewhere around 12:30.

3. I woke up about 7:00 am on Sunday to bake a cake before heading into the office.  I left my cake cooling on the counter and went into the office in my Sunday uniform (jeans with holes, Sam’s t-shirt, flip flops, and wet hair).  I was at the office from 10:00am to 8:30pm and still could have worked for HOURS without getting done.  Sam was kind enough to bring me lunch, though. Thanks, Sam!  When I got home about 9:00, I immediately began to finish my cake. Mel’s birthday was Monday and I was in charge of the cake. I think it turned out pretty well.

My co-workers seemed to like it…

4. I ended up working until 7:00 on Monday night, not counting the 9:00 meeting I had online with clients for a large project. I’m not sleeping well, dreaming about all my projects and what I still have left to do before I can submit it.  I need a vacation!

Leave a Reply

